is this setup ok for my baby dragon?

This is for anything with regards to reptiles which is not species specific or over a broad band of reptiles. Be it husbandry, caging, etc. you can post it here.

is this setup ok for my baby dragon?

Postby jackwu10 » Sun Mar 04, 2012 3:24 pm

hey guys, i am very new to this reptile world..
i bought myself a baby dragon a month ago, and i am trying to do the best for it.
i went to few pet shops and seek for advice, and this is how the setup is..
i personally didnt setup the lighting part, i left it for those ppl who works in pet store, cos they said they can install it for me.
the initial setup: just the heat lighting, and calcium sand.. but somehow i think the sand is affecting draon's eye.. it got to the stage i have to clean its eye 3 times a day,
there's fluid keep on coming out her eyes, and along with sand, when it dry, it close the dragon's eye complete..

then this is second setup, i change the sand to corn, i think she likes it more, cos now her eyes are back to normal, and see things perfectly. i took advice from other pet shop,
change heating bulb to a tube, this stage, she looks more happier.

she likes it!

add little plants..

but today when i went to get more crickets from the pet shop, the other guy told me, i must install heat bulb, otherwise the dragon wont grow? so when i got home, i put it back on.
i am bit concern about the heat lighting, i think it's kinda low, and already create very hot environment inside the cage?

i tried to look for the glass cage, so i cant put heating bulb over the top of cage, but they simply too expensive and too big.. but i am planning to get it when this dragon grow bigger.
so is this setup ok? anything i need to change?
jackwu10
SA Reptiles Member

Re: is this setup ok for my baby dragon?

Postby bitis keeper » Sun Mar 04, 2012 5:07 pm

Rather put you're beardie on newspapper.Im not sure if this is true,but sand can be hazardous to you're baby beardie.
bitis keeper