The proper Bosc's monitor care guide

The proper Bosc's monitor care guide

Postby Buck Rogers » Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:34 pm

Hi there

i have seen his coming up quite a bit about people asking what to do with their bosc's and when asking them I find that they are doing things really back to front. So I wanted to write this up so to stop confusion and get this out of the way. Please if anyone has done any better than me and has better information please correct me.

I have kept and raised only one bosc's monitor in my life, but I have successfully brought her up from hatchling to adult hood and even got her to ovulate (she is on her second ovulation cycle now) so although I am no expert in the field I do think I have done something right to have got this far, and I have done a lot wrong. Here are a few basic tips to help you out.

Introduction to Bosc's monitors
Bosc's are highly prone to stress and although people think that they tame and make great lap-dog pets this is not always the case. Each bosc's has its own separate temperament. Some will be wild and hissy, others will be calm and others will be timid etc. Monitors are extremely intelligent and evolved animals that rely on physical and emotional well being in order to be healthy, this includes the correct diet, interaction with humans, and environment. Remeber one thing your Bosc's is a wild caught and harvested animal and at the end of the day it is a wild animal not a yorkie.

Cage