BP - Feels really dry and rough

BP - Feels really dry and rough

Postby Tina89 » Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:12 pm

Hi Everyone,

I received a BP from this guy. The snake is a year and a half and about 600 long. As soon as I saw him I realized hes not 100%. He had no heat source and was in a mesh top tank so low humidity as well.

I need help on the following.. He seems "pap" and he has old shed stuck to his body and head. I took some photos of his scales but I cant get the photos to upload. They seem hurt and they stick to my skin when he moves along my hand/arm. He feels very dry and made this wheezy sound tonight. Its like a cough? I know snakes can't cough but I don't know how else to explain it. What must I do for him? Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Tina89
SA Reptiles Member

Re: BP - Feels really dry and rough

Postby krah » Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:51 pm

Hey there

So Im no expert, but from what you say it sounds like hes super dry which is causing the scale issues and may have a respiratory infection(wheezing is a sign of that) which is caused by the humidity being too low. Sometimes this can be rectified by pumping the temp and humidity up high, but I would suggest a trip to your local vet.
"History will be kind to me for I intend to write it."
Winston Churchill.

Pastel BP 0.1.0
Firefly BP 1.0.0
Spider BP 1.0.0
Normal BP 0.1.0
Pied BP 1.1.0
Axanthic het pied BP 0.1.0
Banana BP 1.0.0
Albino Corn 0.1.0
Beardies 1.1.0
krah
SA Reptiles Member

Postby Tina89 » Fri Feb 27, 2015 6:45 am

Hi krah

Thank you. I thought it might be something like that. I will book an appointment with the vet today.
Tina89
SA Reptiles Member

Postby Deano » Fri Feb 27, 2015 8:40 am

Hi Tina89,