Hello

Welcome to the forum. Tell us a bit about yourself here.

Hello

Postby Deltheil » Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:37 pm

Hey there.

I am completely new to reptiles but a very special snake sparked my interest and love for them this year and now I am considering getting my very first snake.

My partner got Nosh (Brazilian Rainbow Boa) this year. He is about 6 months now and he is very sweet.

I am moving from Cape Town to JHB and hopefully once I am settled I will start getting everything together, until then I am doing oodles of research, which is really fun and exciting.

I am most likely going to start off with a Ball Python but I am also very much taken by Rainbow Boa's. So I am stuck currently in choosing between those two beauties.

I think I will end up with a Rainbow Boa as they feed easier than the BP's and are not so picky I guess. I want to try stay clear from feeding live mice and rats for many reasons.

Any way here is Nosh taking a dip after feeding last night.
Deltheil
SA Reptiles Member

Re: Hello

Postby krah » Tue Nov 18, 2014 12:08 am

Welcome to the forum and the addictive reptile world! Brazilian Rainbow Boas and Ball pythons are both awesome species. I personally think the Balls are more docile. As far as feeding goes, JHB has plenty of pet shops that supply frozen or pre killed food items, and although I have 1 ball python who gave me feeding hassles for a while, the rest I have now and had previously all fed amazingly.

Either way, happy researching and best of luck!
"History will be kind to me for I intend to write it."
Winston Churchill.

Pastel BP 0.1.0
Firefly BP 1.0.0
Spider BP 1.0.0
Normal BP 0.1.0
Pied BP 1.1.0
Axanthic het pied BP 0.1.0
Banana BP 1.0.0
Albino Corn 0.1.0
Beardies 1.1.0
krah
SA Reptiles Member

Postby Jaredr » Tue Nov 18, 2014 7:42 am

My only suggestion would be to consider the size that the Rainbow Boa will get to. But if Nosh is already around, then I am assuming space isn't going to be a problem.