Breeding with Mice

Questions and suggestions regarding reptile cuisine.

Breeding with Mice

Postby Seaborne » Thu Apr 21, 2011 8:00 pm

Hello there Guys/Gals

I have been toying with the idea of setting up a large scale mice breeding colony for a while (2 weeks - Impulsive person)

As I am brand new to this I thought it might be fun/entertaining and educational to share my trials and tribulations with everybody or just those who are interested.

Well I started off reading posts on here and many other sites/forums on who needs the products and what the return would be like. That only made me want to start sooner.

I then obviously needed some kind of containers/racks for the mice to live in and I found a guy on Junkmail selling his setup for R500. Now he has his reasons why he is selling them for so cheap and I am more than willing to assist him in this. So i am now the semi proud owner of 15 glass tanks divided into 4 /6 tanks. Good start there i think. I just need to go collect them.

Next i did major research and asked a few questions about mice. I was told that Multimammate Mouse (Rattus natalensis) are very sought after. I have subsequently found they so sought after that you cant find any at all. Now I know they do exist, but I feel like the butt of a inside joke and i am being sent on some wild goose chase. I know we made new troopies search for underwater grease, funnel spanners and red port light oil when I was in the SA Navy.

Well I am going to end this post here. Before I get banned or bore you all to death.
Edward Seaborne
BBM Pin:25A1796F
Cell: 083 230 6736
info@nicemicefeeders.co.za

“Where service and product exceeds expectations”
Bearded Dragon 1.0
Ball Python 1.1
Cal King 0.1
Seaborne
SA Reptiles Member

Re: Breeding with Mice

Postby Bushviper » Thu Apr 21, 2011 8:04 pm