Red Tegu Female

Agamas, geckos, lizards, monitors and skinks exotic to South Africa.

View Gallery

Red Tegu Female

Postby SterlingAce » Wed Oct 12, 2011 4:52 pm

Hi everybody,I'm pretty quiet on the forum but thought I will share>This is my female red tegu,I got her about 2 and a half months ago.I've been keeping her indoors mostly but over weekends she spends a lot of time outside.Her indoor cage has a heating pad,heating light x2 and a uvb light in it.
I feed her every 3rd day but struggling to get her to eat fruits and veg.What I have been able to feed her is a canned dog food with veggies and pasta or rice in it along with the meat.She's approx 3 years old and weighs just over 2kg.Any hints to get her to eat more veggies?Just before feeding her I usually let her soak for 10-15min in luke warm water.
Any hints,tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.I'm still learning every day about this wonderful animal. :D

DSC02653.JPG

DSC02659.JPG

DSC02654.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
SterlingAce
SA Reptiles Member

Re: Red Tegu Female

Postby SterlingAce » Wed Oct 12, 2011 4:59 pm

DSC02667.JPG

DSC02670.JPG

DSC02671.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
SterlingAce
SA Reptiles Member

Postby SterlingAce » Wed Oct 12, 2011 5:00 pm

And a last picture :lol:

DSC02672.JPG
SterlingAce
SA Reptiles Member

Postby _THEO_ » Wed Oct 12, 2011 5:39 pm

Tegus are South American lizards that live in the tropics.They need tropical conditions:
about 75 to 90 percent humidity.
atleast 8.0 uvb lighting or natural sun for no less than 8 hours a day.
I think the best substrate for them would be a type of mulch,wich holds moisture.
temperatures in the cage should range from 24c on the cold side to 35+ under the light on the warm side.

My advice to you is.... RESEARCH! RESEARCH! RESEARCH! you can never know enough.