External Hard Drive Data Recovery

Here is the place to discuss anything not related to reptiles and does not fall into any other catagories.

External Hard Drive Data Recovery

Postby Westley Price » Tue Jun 18, 2013 8:56 pm

Hi all

Firstly, please excuse my lack of knowledge and technical terms when it comes to my question.

I'm in quite a difficult spot; my personal external hard drive, where I keep ALL my pictures, has crashed! The one day is was working fine and within an hour I could not access anything. I thought that there could be an error on the disk somewhere so I tried to perform an error check, but I got an error "I/O Error" which I assume means input/output error.

I'm no professional photographer, but I am very attached to the pics that I do have and would really like to recover these.

I sent the hard drive to a friend of mine who works in the IT direction and he removed the disk from it's casing and plugged it directly into a PC tower like you would do an internal hard drive. The PC did not even detect my hard drive.

I would like to find out, is there anything else I can do? Can you guys please suggest a service provider that can help me?

Keep in mind that I am based in Namibia so I would have to courier my hard drive where ever the repair is to take place (if repair is even possible). I will be in JHB early next month in transit, so I could maybe make a plan to drop it somewhere.

I look forward to hearing your comment/input.
"I am dying by inches from not having anybody to talk to about insects." - Charles Darwin
Westley Price
Forum gatekeeper

Re: External Hard Drive Data Recovery

Postby Primogen » Tue Jun 18, 2013 9:18 pm

There are professional data recovery services, although the recovery rate is low and pictures are very difficult to recover intact especially if they are over 1 to 2 megs.
Repair is an option but requires an exact working harddrive of the same specs(hardware, firmware).