Potential Gecko owner

Potential Gecko owner

Postby HelloWorld » Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:53 pm

Hi guys

My first post here :) and I would like to answer a very beginner question. I would like to own a gecko of some sort but I have never owned or ever known anyone that has owned a Gecko... What Gecko is good to start with?

I've heard the Leopard Gecko is great and I'm very interested in them, hence the post here. How much do they go for? I know it may be a difficult question to answer because of all the morphs, but I like the darker colours... So any ball park figure would be great. I also like the look of Smooth Knob Tailed Gecko, which out of the two should I go for? I would like to get two Gecko's as well. So what size tank do I need? The equipment I can gather from other posts but if you have any recommendations please do tell.

I am really a complete beginner but I am a keen admirer of this fantastic species, so would anyone please be ever so kind and help me out to start a new hobby which I can be passionate about :D

Thanks in advance
HelloWorld
In loving memory

Re: Potential Gecko owner

Postby HelloWorld » Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:56 pm

Also, something I left out... I would like to handle the Gecko, but I have heard that they are not the handling type of creature. How often can I handle them? And what is the most handle friendly Gecko I can get? I don't want to kill my Gecko's with all the love I give them! :-P haha

Thanks again
HelloWorld
In loving memory

Postby Fooble » Mon Mar 02, 2009 4:03 pm

Id suggest start off easy like a Leopard Gecko, they are super easy to keep and maintain and are really hardy.
Requiring only a few basics, a moist/wet hide a normal dry hide food water and a heat source.
Prices start from +- R150 to R300 for hatclings then as they get bigger so does the price.

http://www.leopardgecko.com/emcare.html
One of the best ones online
http://www.geckosetc.com/htm/care.htm
Organized crime comes in more forms than one.
Fooble
Forum gatekeeper