Mexican (Durango Mountain) Housing King Housing

Mexican (Durango Mountain) Housing King Housing

Postby Jade00 » Wed May 24, 2017 4:04 pm

Hello everyone!

I am quite new at this pet snake thing... and just have a quick question... sure loads more to follow!!

My baby king is currently in a plastic tub and doing very well in there. I am not sure how old he is but I have him since Dec/Jan. He was a pet that was not looked after and my brother who catches snakes as a hobby was called to collect him. He already has 5 snakes so I inherited King Henry as he is now called.

I am planning to get him a new wooden cage soon as he is growing a bit now but would like to know if he would be happy in a 600x350x360 cage. I want to keep the cage smallish as he needs to travel sometimes to stay with my Mom when my Mom-in-law comes to visit. As I understand he will only get +- 900 long which would then be fine for that size cage. Am I correct in this?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jade00
SA Reptiles Member

Re: Mexican (Durango Mountain) Housing King Housing

Postby Mr. Whiskers » Wed May 24, 2017 7:30 pm

I'm not very knowledgeable with Mexican king snakes, but after doing some quick research and applying what I know about terrestrial snakes, I can say the following:
The general rule for housing a terrestrial snake (one that lives exclusively on the ground) is that half the perimeter (the sum of the 4 sides) of the floor should at the very least be HALF the length of the snake. If the snake is longer than this, then that cage is too small. That being said, if the enclosure is larger than this, and your snake doesn't show signs of stress from this (i.e. not feeding or being a lot more nervous) then there should be no problem.
At adulthood, king snakes typically average between 900mm to 1200mm (I'm not sure if your snake will be smaller or larger due to specific locality).

My personal opinion?