Best way to wire multiple heatpads?

Best way to wire multiple heatpads?

Postby gekosin » Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:14 am

Morning all i am still busy with planning my tanks and next step is to plan the wiring and lighting etc, currently i have 1 thermostat which is controlling 2 heat pads (it is an 800w thermostat and currently only has 28w connected to it).

My thought was to hook up the outgoing end of the thermostat to a "14 socket multiplug" this would allow me to wire each heat pad to a 3 pin plug, place it in a multiplug socket and then run everything off the 1 thermostat.

Was thinking of doing something similar for the lights but they will just go directly into the multiplug and ill use the 4w LED lighbulbs.

I am no electrician so this might be totally crazy and insane. LOTS of advice needed/ welcome :)

Thanks!
Proud Parent Of -

4.0.0 Corn Snake (Ghost Striped, Anery, Amber Stripe Corn)
0.3.0 Corn Snake (Normal, High Bloodred, Motley Gold Dust)
gekosin
SA Reptiles Member

Re: Best way to wire multiple heatpads?

Postby Primogen » Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:23 am

Multiple tanks on one thermostat is fine as long as the tanks have basically identical setups as in same position of heatpads, same wattage of heatpads and same cage dimensions.
The probe will need to be in the higher tank as hot air rises.
“The animal needing something knows how much it needs, the man does not.” — Democritus
Primogen
SA Reptiles Member

Postby dobby7 » Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:37 pm

I agree with primogen. The tanks will need to be exactly the same size and have the same wattage heat pads. The placement of the pads will have to match aswell.
If you cant beat them, join them. If you cant join them, shoot them.
1.1.0 Red tail boas
1.4.2 Corn Snakes
0.0.2 Heralds
1.1.0 Brown House snakes
1.1.0 Copperheads
0.0.2 Leopard geckos
dobby7
SA Reptiles Member

Postby gekosin » Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:43 pm