First Attempt Building Enclosures

First Attempt Building Enclosures

Postby shenicles » Fri Nov 28, 2014 2:28 pm

Hi guys :D

I have recently come across enough building material ( think its white melamite ) to start building my own enclosures.
Because it is my first attempt I'll be keeping things simple. Still not sure on the sizes because I will be keeping mainly corns, and a selection of boas / pythons I hope to get in the future.

I checked a post related to using white melamite and I know its safe :P
Is there anything else I will need to know regarding treatment of the wood/exposed areas?

Thinking of using round vents? Although the rectangular ones are more aesthetically pleasing, they seem to be harder to find. Especially on budget :D
I am planning on using Marine Silicone for the sealing process, and simple nails. Also aware that I would need to sand down the glass runners a bit to help it bond better.

To be fairly honest, I still have not decided if I want to build singles or perhaps a nice stack.

Any opinions and advice is gladly welcome!

Will update with pictures of the boards as soon as I get home :P

Regards,
sheN
shenicles
SA Reptiles Member

Re: First Attempt Building Enclosures

Postby Primogen » Fri Nov 28, 2014 2:55 pm

Melamine is pretty much what everybody uses, so no real problems there beside the need to seal it very well:
Such as applying waterproof woodglue or silicone to the exposed edges before joining.
And a further bead of silicon on internal corners.
Any water or humidity will cause it to swell tremendously if its not well sealed.
“The animal needing something knows how much it needs, the man does not.” — Democritus
Primogen
SA Reptiles Member

Postby gekosin » Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:33 pm

I have never tried nails but i would just make sure they are long enough/ the correct type, else your enclosure will be falling apart while you try build it.
Proud Parent Of -

4.0.0 Corn Snake (Ghost Striped, Anery, Amber Stripe Corn)